Ttc Final Agreement

TTC signed its Final Agreement on Land and Self-Management in good faith in 1995. Their preference, as was their story, is to negotiate with governments to realize their interests. TTC is disappointed to have had to go to court to confirm what they have consistently said since 2010. However, they see this decision as a turning point to continue work towards a financial transfer agreement with Canada, which will provide resources to usefully assist the needs of their citizens. “Yukon First Nation Children and families deserve adequate programs and services, supported by adequate funding, based on the total population of citizens, as determined by the respective First Nation. After decades of negotiations, TTC and other Yukon First Nations entered into modern contracts to reach an agreement that would allow Canada and the TTC to advance their shared priorities. The main objective of the agreement is to ensure that the citizens of Teslin Tlingit, regardless of the categories of status or non-status imposed by the state, can achieve self-disposition in accordance with their principles and values. “For several years, TTC has recognized the importance of adequate funding for all its citizens under the terms of their self-management agreements. Adamek, head of the region, says the court ruling confirms the opinion and interpretation of his agreements by TTC. However, TTC`s self-management agreement distinguishes between citizens who have Indian status and those who do not.

“Justice Vaele`s decision sets a positive precedent and an important recognition that modern treaties, particularly the TTC self-management agreement, are of the utmost importance to federal policy. This decision signals to Canada that proper implementation of self-management requires the federal government to meet its constitutional obligations under year-end and self-government agreements. Federal officials cannot continue to interpret our agreements through the lens of Indian law,” the regional chief said. The executive council, composed of nine members, is composed of the Chief Executive Officer, the deputy, the Executive Youth, a representative of each of the five clans and an older one appointed by the Council of Elders. . . .

Comments are closed.